Weekend Breakfast: Egg in a Hole

Poof! And just like that, the weekend is almost over.  I just love making big family breakfasts on the weekends.  Everyone sleeps in, rolls downstairs still in their pj’s and we have a nice big breakfast. Lazy mornings are the best. 

This weekend was a little different. Saturday, I had a girls trip to a small town outside of Tucson. The tiny town of Sonoita is filled with wineries.  So I went with my sister, niece and a close friend and we spend the day tasting wine. So fun!!  But, we left at 9:30 in the morning, so I didn’t get to make our usual breakfast. 

My goodies from our day of wine tasting-


I had big plans this morning. Hubby has been so sweet to me lately, I wanted to make his favorite breakfast. He got up before me to get a brisket in his smoker for dinner. I woke up a little while later, planning to have 1 cup of coffee, and then get started on biscuits and sausage gravy….but Hubby got called in to work. (I hate when he gets called away for work, but I also hate to complain about overtime.)

I didn’t want to have Hubby leave for work without something in his belly.  I decided to make Egg in a Hole. It’s quick, simple and he could eat it in the car if necessary.  I don’t have recipe typed up for it- it’s super easy to make. 

You will need-

First, you’ll need to heat a skillet to medium and lightly coat with cooking spray.  Butter both sides of a slice of bread and place in the heated skillet. Take a medium sized biscuit cutter and cut a hole in the center of the bread. 

Crack an egg and add to the hole in the bread. I like to use only egg whites. 

Sprinkle with salt and pepper. 

When the center of the egg is starting to set, flip the bread and egg to brown the other side. 

I served Hubbys Egg in a Hole with a fruit cup and oj. I just had the oj. 

Yummmmm

There it is- my quick but satisfying weekend breakfast.  I love traditions and this is definitely one that my family enjoys. I especially love that traditions can be tweaked to adjust to life. 

Happy weekend!  I hope you all enjoy making memories with your loved ones. 

Author: dayneswife

Hi! I'm Courtney. Wife of Dayne, mom to two beautiful girls and 3 fur babies. We live in sunny Tucson, Arizona. I love to spend my time cooking, baking, decorating, organizing and crafting. My goal is to share tips and tricks, be an encouragement to others and make some friends along the way. 😘

3 thoughts on “Weekend Breakfast: Egg in a Hole”

Leave a Reply

